Residential Park *** and Campsite *** ten minutes from La Baule and Guérande
L'île de Nantes sur la Loire
vagues couleurs

Just an hour from the campsite: Nantes, capital city of Loire Atlantique and capital of the Dukes of Brittany

Must-see tourist attractions in Nantes

The city of Nantes is a beautiful place to discover. It’s just an hour by car (74 km) from the three-star campsite Les Chalands Fleuris. An amazing city that merges traditional heritage and modernity.

Here, where history blends with nature, why not discover:

The Botanical Garden: seven hectares of rare plants. The guided tour of the topical greenhouses is free.

The Ile de Versailles and its electric boats. The park on the Ile de Versailles with its Japanese-style garden is the perfect place to enjoy an exotic change of scenery.

The island’s palm tree greenhouse whose construction was completed in 2013, is the Garden’s latest acquisition. The greenhouse was initially planned as a private garden and put up for sale on an auction website. Today it is a place where every afternoon the public can go to read, eat, work or quite simply relax in a subtropical atmosphere. It is located in the centre of the Garden.

The Grand Elephant of the Machines on the Ile and Les Machines de l’Île located on the site of Nantes’ former shipyards are simply amazing! Les Machines de l’Ile is an interactive exhibition area designed by François Delarozière and Pierre Orefice.

The castle of the Dukes of Brittany. Located in the heart of the city, the castle is one of Nantes’ must-see buildings. The ramparts date from the 15th century, the rest of the castle having been built between the 15th and 18th century. Today the castle houses a museum; an interpretation centre where the town’s history is brought to life. Worth a visit!


What should you visit during a walk around Nantes?

Interview with a Very Elderly Nantes resident, passionate about his city and highly knowledgeable about its tourist attractions

Les Chalands Fleuris Campsite: As a very elderly Nantes resident, what advice would you give to a family visiting Nantes for the first time?

Very Elderly Nantes Resident: First of all, park somewhere and enjoy the city in peace! Driving in Nantes is not always easy. There are large car parks at the entrance to the city. From there, the easiest way is to do everything by tram then go around on foot. So head for the Place du Commerce; that’s the public transport hub. From there you can chose between the two centres of Nantes.

C.F.C.: So Nantes has two city centres?

V.E.N.R.: Yes, so to speak: there’s what we call the Graslin quarter, quite bourgeois and quite classical in style. You must take rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau on your way to Place Graslin, with its theatre and nearby famous brasseries including the well-known, Art Nouveau brasserie La Cigale. Having lunch there may not suit everyone’s pocket, but it’s a nice place to enjoy an ice cream in the afternoon. Then head back down rue Crébillon with its many shops to place Royale and its fountain representing the river Loire and its tributaries. Not forgetting to walk through the famous Passage Pommeraye, dating back to 1840. It’s one of the most beautiful covered passages in Europe! Like that you’ll have discovered the centre of Graslin.

C.F.C.: And what about the other centre?

V.E.N.R.: People from Nantes call it the Decré quarter, after a former department store. Here the architecture is a great deal older. Just walk along the Cours des Cinquante Otages, the main avenue in the centre of Nantes and what was the bed of the river Erdre which today flows underground. You can walk as far as the Cathedral of St Peter and St Paul, up to the Castle of the Dukes of Brittany and lose yourself in the small streets around Bouffay market.

C.F.C.: Some people say that Nantes is not in Brittany.

V.E.N.R.: Nonesense! [points to the castle of the Dukes of Brittany] So what’s that then? Machu Picchu? The residence of the Tsar of All-Russia? Seriously…

C.F.C.: People often mention the Ile de Nantes and its famous ‘machines’.

V.E.N.R.: Yes, it’s fun and popular with children. But at my age I prefer the Ile Feydeau, even if it’s not an island anymore given that the branches of the Loire there were drained. You can see fine residences dating back to the 17th century, a period when Nantes enriched itself through the trading of Afro-Caribbeans.
Oh, and another island that I’m fond of is the , , a real small island this time, in the Erdre. It’s a nice place to go for a drink, for a walk around its Japanese garden and to go out on a pedal boat. The banks of the river Erdre have become very lively, with an atmosphere that’s very convivial for a city.

C.F.C.: As a very elderly Nantes resident, any tips on local specialities for a visiting family?

V.E.N.R.: Nantes is a city where people like to enjoy themselves! You really must go to a crêperie in one of the city centres. And don’t hesitate to try, in moderation, a Gros Plant or a Muscadet sur Lie, to be drunk well-chilled. It’ll make a change from the standard cheap Loire Valley wines! And as for the children, going off with a few little kouign-amann (butter and caramel puff pastry biscuits) and a few berlingots, our star confectionary, will make the journey back to your campsite in Saint-André des Eaux a little sweeter.

C.F.C.: Many thanks for your advice!

V.E.N.R.: Not at all, it’s been my pleasure. And say hello to your campers, or ‘Kenavo’ as we say in Breton!

Discover places to visit

Parc Résidentiel de Loisirs *** et Camping *** à 10 mn de la Baule et de Guerande
L'île de Nantes sur la Loire
vagues couleurs

À une heure du camping : Nantes, chef-lieu de Loire Atlantique et capitale des Ducs de Bretagne

Quels sont les adresses indispensables du tourisme à Nantes ?

La ville de Nantes est une belle découverte. Elle est à seulement 1h en voiture (74 km) du Camping*** Les Chalands fleuris. Une ville étonnante, qui mêle patrimoine et modernité.

L’histoire ici, se mêle à la nature. Vous pourrez y découvrir :

Le Jardin des Plantes : 7 hectares de plantes rares. La visite guidée des serres tropicales est gratuite

L’île de Versailles et ses bateaux électriques. Le jardin de l'île de Versailles offre une forme de dépaysement et d'exotisme en restituant une image des jardins japonais.

La serre de l'île aux palmiers est la dernière acquisition du jardin, sa construction a en effet été achevée en juin 2013. Elle était à l'origine destinée à un jardin privé et proposée à la vente sur un site dweb de vente aux enchères. Elle a pour vocation d'accueillir chaque après-midi dans une ambiance subtropicale le public afin de lire, manger, travailler ou tout simplement se reposer. Elle est située au centre du Jardin.

Le Grand Éléphant des Machines de l’île et les Machines de l’Île installées sur les anciens chantiers navals de Nantes ; elles sont à couper le souffle ! Les Machines de l’île sont un espace d'exposition et d'animation créé par François Delarozière et Pierre Orefice.

Le château des Ducs de Bretagne. Installé au coeur de la ville, il fait partie des édifices incontournables de Nantes. Les remparts datent du XVe siècle tandis que le reste du château a été édifié entre le XVe et le XVIIIe siècle. L'édifice accueille aujourd'hui un musée, lieu d'interprétation de l'histoire de la ville. À visiter !


Que visiter lors d'une promenade à Nantes ?

Entretien avec un Très Vieux Nantais, amoureux de sa ville et fin connaisseur de son patrimoine touristique

Camping les Chalands Fleuris : Vous êtes un très vieux Nantais. Quels conseils donneriez-vous à une famille qui visite Nantes pour la première fois ?

Le Très Vieux Nantais : Tout d'abord, se garer pour être tranquille ! Circuler en voiture dans Nantes n'est pas toujours évident. Il y a des grands parkings aux entrées de la ville. De là, le plus simple est de tout faire en tramway, puis, flâner à pied. Direction place du Commerce donc, c'est le coeur des transports en commun. De là, vous avez le choix entre les deux centres de Nantes.

C.C.F. : Il y a deux centres-ville à Nantes ?

T.V.N : Pour ainsi dire oui : il y a ce qu'on appelle le quartier Graslin, assez bourgeois, assez classique dans son style. Il faut absolument remonter la rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau et arriver place Graslin, avec son théâtre et à côté, ses brasseries célèbres, dont la fameuse Cigale, au style Art Nouveau. Y déjeûner n'est pas donné, mais on peut y prendre une glace dans l'après-midi. Ensuite redescendre la rue Crébillon, très commerçante, pour arriver place Royale avec sa fontaine représentant la Loire et ses affluents. En n'oubliant pas de traverser le fameux Passage Pommeraye, datant de 1840. Un des plus beaux passages couverts d'Europe ! Vous aurez alors fait connaissance avec le centre Graslin.

C.C.F. : Qu'en est-il de l'autre centre ?

T.V.N : Les Nantais l'appelle le quartier Decré, du nom d'un ancien grand magasin. C'est un centre à l'architecture beaucoup plus ancienne. Il suffit de traverser le Cours des Cinquante Otages, en réalité, l'ancien lit de l'Erdre, désormais rivière souterraine. On peut flâner jusqu'à la Cathédrale Saint-Pierre-et-Saint-Paul jusqu'au Château des Ducs de Bretagne et se perdre dans les petites rues vers le marché du Bouffay.

C.C.F. : Certains disent que Nantes, ce n'est pas la Bretagne ?

T.V.N : Bougres d'ânes ! [il montre du doigt le château des Ducs de Bretagne] Et là, c'est le Machu Picchu ? La résidence du Tsar de toutes les Russies ? Soyons sérieux...

C.C.F. : On parle souvent de l'île de Nantes et de ses fameuses "machines" ?

T.V.N : Oui, c'est amusant, les enfants en raffolent. Mais vu mon âge, je préfère l'île Feydeau, même si ce n'est plus une île car les bras de la Loire ont été asséchés à cet endroit. On y voit de riches demeures datant du XVIIIe siècle, à l'époque où Nantes s'est enrichie avec le commerce afro-caraïbe.
Tenez, une autre île que j'aime bien, c'est l'île de Versailles, une vraie petite île cette fois, sur l'Erdre. On peut y prendre un verre, se promener dans son jardin japonais et faire du pédalo. Les bords de l'Erdre sont devenus très animés, avec une ambiance très conviviale pour une grande ville.

C.C.F. : Cher Très Vieux Nantais, un conseil gastronomique pour une petite famille de touristes ?

T.V.N : Nantes, c'est une ville de bons vivants ! Il faut absolument se rendre dans une crêperie d'un des deux centres-ville. Et ne pas hésiter à déguster, avec modération, un Gros-Plant ou un Muscadet sur-lie bien frais. Ça vous changera des piquettes standardisées du Val de Loire ! Et quant aux enfants, repartir avec quelques petits kouign-amann (gâteau feuilleté au beurre et au caramel) et quelques berlingots, notre confiserie phare, leur fera passer facilement le trajet de retour à votre camping à Saint-André des Eaux.

C.C.F. : Très Vieux Nantais, merci beaucoup pour vos conseils !

T.V.N : De rien, ce fut un plaisir. Et passez le bonjour à vos campeurs ! Kenavo !

Découvrez les bonnes adresses